Drama in the Drama

Our church Christmas program is finally over. I say finally because I have been working on it since September, and we have been practicing since October. The process of putting on a Christmas program is always stressful, emotional, and often draining. However, it is also extremely rewarding in the end.
This year was so different. It felt like every step that was taken for the program was purposely sabottaged by someone on the inside. No one could ever seem to be on the same page at the same time. I found myself broken in prayer more than I can ever recall.
I kept hearing God say, “I put you in this place for such a time as this.”
Let me just say, that has to be one of the most frustrating things I’ve ever been told. And He just kept saying it, over and over. I’d pray for a solution, for help, and even for Him to remove me from the situation. His answer was always the same, “I put you in this place for such a time as this.”
After all the stepped on toes, hurt feelings, loss of friendship, and broken hearts, I am amazed that I can’t see the good that came out of this process.
I was awake until after 2 AM last night trying to sort it out in my mind. Trying to find the sunshine that has been hid behind the clouds. I still can’t find it.
I know that I know that I know that God had a purpose for this year’s Christmas program. I know that I know that I know it was fulfilled.
I WISH that I knew what it was. I WISH I had proof that it was all worth it. Our church choir and cast worked so hard, through so much. They deserve to know their effort was indeed for a heavenly purpose.
What do I say to them? “Because of your commitment and dedication we carried out a long passed down tradition.”???? That is TERRIBLE!!!! The Christmas program shouldn’t be something we do just because that’s the way it’s always been done.
I guess I’m used to something like this either being a huge success or an utter failure. No matter what, there is always a climatic ending.
Our program, however, went “just fine”. Nothing major went wrong, and yet I can’t say (nor have I heard anyone else say) that it was a huge blessing.
I’m still seeking the sun, the silver lining, the purpose I know He had for this. I will keep on keeping on….

Leave a Reply

