Come All Christians, Be Committed!!!

Tuesday, October 21, 2008
Come All Christians, Be Committed!!!!
Commitment
What is it about the word “commitment” that sends normally rational people running? This word is often joked about in relationships. Two people meet, date, have everything in common, and all appears to be on track, until the word “commitment” comes into play.

“What do you mean you want us to be exclusive?”

“We already spend every waking minute together. Let’s just make it official.”

“I’m not sure I’m ready for that type of “commitment”. I’m not ready to settle down.”

GAG! This age old conversation drives me nuts!!!! Now, for those of you wondering….I’m not pondering this because of male/female relationships. I’m pondering our human aversion to “commitment” in general.

I digress. Let’s say I decide to have a scrapbook party to commemorate an important event in a person’s life. I contact everyone who has influenced or been influenced by that person to come. I need them to bring photos, letters, memorabilia, and their self to help create this scrapbook as a gift for the individual.

Out of 20 people I contact, all 20 think it is an amazing idea and want to be a part. One individual readily says, “Yes! I’ll be there with all my stuff! Can I bring snacks for everyone?”

Another says, “I was planning on going shopping that day, but I can shop another day! I’ll be there!”

The remaining 18 people applaud the effort, brag on me for taking on such a project, and then refuse to commit. They make excuses, promise to let me know when the date gets closer, tell me everything else that’s going on in their lives, and then hang up with a guilt-free conscience.

Oh, did I mention this was going to be a scrapbook depicting everything God has done in the lives of our church members? Yes, this will be a book our church can keep as a reminder of how God has worked in our congregation throughout the years. It can be added to as new things happen. It can help lift us up when life gets tough.

Ok, so I’m not really orchestrating a scrapbook, that was just an analogy, but I am so frustrated with people’s lack of commitment. We want to be a part of good things as long as we don’t have to commit to finishing them. Ask yourself if you’ve ever said or heard someone else say, “Sure, I’ll do it! Unless something pops up before then.”

We might as well have said, “No, don’t count on me. This is not important in my life right now.”

That’s what we are really saying every time we use that cop out.

I’m reminded of Matthew 8:21-23 (New International Version)
21Another disciple said to him, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.”
22But Jesus told him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.”
23Then He got into the boat and His disciples followed Him.

Or 57As they were walking along the road, a man said to him, “I will follow you wherever you go.” 58Jesus replied, “Foxes have holes and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.” 59He said to another man, “Follow me.” But the man replied, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.” 60Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and proclaim the kingdom of God.” 61 Still another said, “I will follow you, Lord; but first let me go back and say good-by to my family.” 62Jesus replied, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.”

Hmmmm…what does Jesus have to say about commitment?

But Carrie, this was Jesus talking to the disciples. You don’t really think this applies to us today, do you?

YES, YES, YES!!!!! This applies just as much to me and you today as it did to those disciples. If we are truly born again believers, then it is our desire to spread the gospel. When God presents us with opportunities to do that, it is our responsibility to commit ourselves fully to that work. If that means committing publicly to a group or spiritually to God, we should be willing to do that.

He gave His life for us, surely we can commit to a few hours of our time.

Leave a Reply

